Home > Linux, Ubuntu > How can I forget su pwd ?

How can I forget su pwd ?


Not very often I forget my passwords, but was little apart from my Ubuntu system for sometime now and it went off my mind. How can I forget my root password ?

Luckily it was quite easy to reset it though.
1. Reboot the system in recovery mode.
2. Select “Drop to root shell promt”
3. Type command
passwd root
(Woooo!! it didnt ask me the old password)
4. Type in the new password
5. There is no success message but the password is reset
6. Type “Exit”
7. Return to recovery menu and select “Resume normal boot”

I felt relieved ………. all set to forget it again 🙂

Ohh man I actually set the root password, this would have worked for me

sudo passwd root

Categories: Linux, Ubuntu Tags: ,
  1. April 21, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    Actually, the root account is disabled in Ubuntu by default, which is why you can boot into recovery without a password.

    Now that you’ve set a password for root, the next time you boot into recovery mode, you’ll be prompted for the new root password you just set in step #3.

  2. NirajKakodkar
    April 22, 2011 at 7:19 am

    Siu, you are right .. its asking me the old password now … but if my password was not set initially then why was it not accepting blank password for su while installing new packages ?

  3. October 7, 2014 at 9:57 pm

    This design is spectacular! You obviously know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between yur wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start
    my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wondeerful job.
    I really loved what you hadd to say, and more han that, how you
    presented it. Too cool!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

