Home > BaaN, Infor, personal > You know BaaN right ?, Appko BaaN to aata hai naa ?

You know BaaN right ?, Appko BaaN to aata hai naa ?


Dan’s blog inspired me a lot, for writing this blog post. I am a BaaN fan too, a hardcore BaaN fan and no ways I am going to leave BaaN. I have worked on various open technologies as well as packaged softwares in my 6 year professional career, but I always tried to integrate it with Baan and stay with BaaN. I could have moved towards other technologies like my colleagues did, but no I can see a bright uprise in BaaN ERP in near future.

I remember the days when I was not sure, whether to stick with BaaN or move on.
Day 1 of my career, I had just joined Mr. N.C Mehta for BaaN implementation in MCAAL.Totally unaware of what is Baan, had not even heard it as a buzzword, not my mistake at all, was not even interviewed as a BaaN resource. Not their mistake either, freshers never wanted to work on BaaN, there was a hype that it was outdated.

Three of us Ravi, Aalok and me joined Mr. Mehta. Aalok was strong opposer for working on BaaN, We consulted our professor Miss. Dalvi for the same, Aalok obviously left next day and yes, he is leading a project in an big IT company today.

I still remember, On my first day, Mr. Mehta was introducing me with the IT team, suddenly someone asked me in a loud voice

“You know Baan right, aapko Baan to aata hai naa ?”

, damn what the heck is this BaaN, I was totally confused. That was Mr. Vyas’s voice, He was the senior most key user in Finance, looked very strict at the first impression, though he is a great guy and very much cognizant in his domain. I was blank at that moment, gave him as broad smile and stood quiet.

The interviewers purposely didnot tell us that we will be working on BaaN, due to the fear of us not joining.Finally myself and Ravi took the decison of joining the company.
There was no formal training, nor any sort of guidance regarding BaaN, we were in the middle of the ocean, with no knowledge of swimming and trying hard to reach the shore.

The good wave that emerged in the ocean safely reaching me to the shore where I am now, was Mr. Mayuresh Purandare. Can’t forget this great guy.Everything I learn’t about BaaN, where to start with was through Mayuresh, currently he is not associated with BaaN but he had helped me a lot during my initial period.I met him online on BaaNboard and we are still in touch.

One more name which I can’t forget is Vaishali Naik, she was the senior most BaaN Consultant in MCAAL, whole and sole of BaaN customisations, the one women army.

Further more I met lots of great people in my career path from whom I gained a lot , whole of my Solectron Cape team Prasantha, Lakshminarayan, Venkat, Murtaza, Amod Dighe (The coolest Manager ever), Sudipta, Nirav, Abhijeet, Ganesan Ravi, Anand, Suresh ( the best team ever, it was a family) and my EET team Anthony, Bibbin, Ravi Potdar ( The Don ), Sameer, Viral, Ricardo, Kamal and all the Katsushiro chaps a big list actually.

Now I have no second thoughts in my mind to move out of BaaN. BaaN has a bright future with all the new things Infor is bringing in. Thanks to all the great guys who made me cognizant in BaaN and brought confidence in me to stay along with it.

Categories: BaaN, Infor, personal Tags: , ,
  1. vikas
    June 1, 2011 at 4:22 am

    Infor or you can say the previous all componies are laking in the baan’s marketing.
    It is directly affecting the consultants like us,no jobs in their areas and no more opportunities..u can look at SAP ..u will get the job in any state and with handsome package…rest up to u..but even i love baan 2 much…

    • NirajKakodkar
      June 1, 2011 at 10:40 am

      Dude, Happy that you love BaaN, the product is so good, that even after lack of marketting or whatever you say, BaaN still survived and showing its strong existence. You being a consultant, you yourself can market it and compare it with other related products, indirectly sell it to your customer, create opportunities if you believe in the product. 🙂

      bdw @infor is doing great work in terms of marketting and product enhancement.

  2. Sandeep
    June 2, 2011 at 4:05 am

    Yes, I believe with INFOR’s latest moves and some new entrants in INFOR top management, they are headed for a bright future for next couple of years. But that alone may not be able to steer them for another decade. They have to get on very aggressively with brand positioning and make existing customer happy by solving their current pain areas…..

    Sandeep

    • NirajKakodkar
      June 2, 2011 at 6:30 am

      Thanks Sandeep, appreciate your comment. Yes the current efforts are not enough, but again as Dan says in his blog “Remember, Red, hope is a good thing…maybe the best thing”.

  3. June 14, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Nice story on how I got to this blog. I work for INFOR’s innovation and development team , I was playing with few web plugins I wrote for the product and while analyzing results i came across the phrase “You know BaaN , right?”. that took me to this post, Its funny cause that is exactly what I had to tell almost everyone I meet in last few years.

    Well i don’t directly work with the researchers from original Baan Team , but from what I heard from my co-workers is that they are really good programmers. With exciting new additions and a great management team I think LN has a great future ahead. Stick on y’all.

    • NirajKakodkar
      June 17, 2011 at 10:04 am

      Thanks Rahul, for sharing the info. Nice to know that, from someone right from Infor.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment